Pattern Testing for Little Kiwis – Soft Structured Carrier for Dolls and Teds


The following post is about a pattern I tested yesterday but it is still in progress and not yet finished.

Lydia from Little Kiwis is presently developing a soft structured carrier (SSC) for kids to wear their favourite toy.

Getting Ready

According to the instructions, I cut out all my pieces and organised my supplies. I opted for fabric straps as I didn’t want to go to the shop just to buy webbing.

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Cutting out the pieces

After cutting it all out I realised I had misread the instructions and cut twice as many strap pieces as I needed to – lol.

Constructing the Waist Band

I didn’t acknowledge that I needed to leave the waist band open a certain width to insert the main body so ended up having to unpick it later on.

I also basted the two fabric layers together first to help to eliminate shift when I sewed the wadding down. I just over-locked the wadding on to save double stitching. BTW, I would use thinner wadding next time. This was quite poofy.

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Waist Strap Construction

Turned out – you will see I over-locked the side which had the wadding on it to make it easier to fold over in a later step. Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Waist Strap Construction 2

Adding the Pocket(s)

I like to try and make everything I make reversible just to be a little different and give a little flexibility in the use and wear of each garment.

So with that in mind, I added a pocket to each side of the main body of the carrier. Even though the buckles would be inward facing once inverted, I thought it would be a neat way to get two looks out of it. I figured once the buckles are set to fit the child they wouldn’t need adjusting again just to turn it inside out.

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Pockets

Adding the Shoulder Straps and Side Webbing

Again I misread where I was supposed to affix the straps but luckily adjusted before sewing. You can see in the image on the left I pinned them to the corners when in fact I want them pinned out of the way as I need to sew around the sides and neckline and don’t want to catch them when I do.

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Body, strap alignment, I mistakingly pinned them to the corners but corrected it before I sewed it together

Adding the Chest Straps

According to the instructions, I was to sew the chest straps on. I did but my criss cross wasn’t perfect so I reverted to my old favourite – the snap press! Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Chest Straps sewn on, very untidy

Ah – much better:-) I even had an idea of making something funky to snap on to these at a later date, again just to be a little bit different.

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - Chest Straps snapped on instead of sewn on

Isaac 3 1/2 years old

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - 3yr old wearing on his back

You can see in the pic that the chest strap sits much too high. Don’t fear as this is all part of the testing process and a variation on design is currently underway to eliminate this problem.

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - 3yr old wearing it on his front

Holly 2 years old

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - 2 yr old Holly wearing it on her front

Conversely, it fitted Holly very well but this is because the Dolly she had in it was much thinner/flatter. Poor Teddy had a fat bottom:-)

Child's Soft Structured Doll Carrier - 2 yr old Holly wearing it on her back

Pattern designed by Little Kiwis

14 thoughts on “Pattern Testing for Little Kiwis – Soft Structured Carrier for Dolls and Teds

  1. Your sewing is always top quality Vicki, and I love your fabric choices…thank you for testing my pattern and your very helpful review. Its finally nearly finished. just a few more tweaks and some nice photos and I’ll be able to put it up for sale on etsy.

Leave a Reply

