Reversible Knit Baby Pants

Today being a ‘holiday’ I thought I would do some sewing for my own kids. I follow the Shwin&Shwin blog and they recently posted about reversible knit baby pants and they took my fancy so today I gave them a go.  I made one pair for Holly and one pair for Isaac.

I added ‘knee pads’ to Holly’s pants as she is crawling at the moment and wearing all her pants thin at the knees.

What I like:

  • Reversible
  • Easy to sew (with one exception)
  • Comfy for baby and easy to get on and off
  • Sizing is really generous (the tutorial provides the pattern for a 3-6 month old but Holly is 16 months now and it fits her absolutely perfectly).  I imagine that it would still fit a little baby well – it just fits for a long time.

What I don’t like:

  • The last part of the tutorial instructs how to close the waistband – no matter how hard I tried I just could not get the stitching to line up on both sides perfectly and I am not a fan of crooked or even slightly crooked stitching so it frustrated me.

So, after I made Holly’s pair I changed the pattern. I up-sized it for Isaac and added a waistband of equal circumference to the pants in an effort to make matching up the stitching easier. I inserted elastic into the waistband to make it fit. This however, did not result in better stitching although it was way easier to actually sew (the other way I have to stretch the band to fit as I sew around which is just a nightmare). I need to figure out a better way to make the finish look professional. Overall I prefer the look of the waistband as instructed by the tutorial (not my ammended way) but I think I need a lot more practice at it to get the stitching perfect-o!

I also added an extra ‘cuff’ to the bottom of Isaac’s pants to extend the life of them as he gets taller.  These pants are actually way too big for him so I think he will be wearing them next year rather than this year. I added pockets to his pants as he is keen on putting things in his pockets at the moment. Plus being a typical little guy he is keen on space ships and aliens etc to I ironed on some motifs I got from Spotlight.  He was delighted to try the pants on but immediately wanted to take them off as they were rather baggy.

©PetitBebe 2012
petitbebecreationz@gmail.com
www.facebook.com/petitbebe

Leave a Reply

