Tenosynovectomy of the 4th extensor compartment – tendon debridement

I have recently had surgery on my left wrist due to constant pain which was due to inflamed tissue. The surgeon commented post-operatively that he discovered a bony ridge beneath my tendon which is indicative of a previous fracture. He said the cause of my pain was due to the tendons sliding back and forth over this ridge, rupturing and bleeding into the synovium causing the tissue to inflame and thicken. The surgeon said he could see the evidence of this bleeding as the tissues were stained brown.

Tenosynovectomy of the 4th extensor compartment - during surgery

The first picture is of my wrist prior to the tendon debridement and the second is after. In the first picture the surgeon is pointing to the thickened discoloured tissue. In the second picture you can see the thickened discoloured tissue is all scraped out and the surgeon is pointing to the area where he found the bony ridge.

The next picture is of my wrist at 10 days post op when I had the cast and stitches removed. Still extremely swollen and pink (from the surgical prep). My fingers are to the left and my elbow to the right. I had a VERY fat hand!

Tenosynovectomy of the 4th extensor compartment - 10 days post op

The last pic is today’s pic 2.5 weeks post op – my fingers are to the right this time as I took the photo. My splint is off and I am relying on tubigrip (hence the indentations) which is good at keeping the swelling under control. I have been to my first post-op physio appointment and have been doing the required hand exercises since (plus twice daily massage of the scar tissue which, incidentally, kills – OUCH).

I think in only 2 days since starting the exercises I have regained a lot of movement and strength. It is still painful and very tight but I am hoping it will keep recovering at this same rate so I can get back to sewing:-)

Tenosynovectomy of the 4th extensor compartment - 2.5 weeks post op

©PetitBebe 2011 – 2013
www.facebook.com/PetitBebe
www.etsy.com/shop/PetitBebeCreatioNZ

One thought on “Tenosynovectomy of the 4th extensor compartment – tendon debridement

  1. Pingback: Knitting as Therapy | PetitBebeCreatioNZ

Leave a Reply

