Knitting as hand therapy – Cable Braided Necklace

My surgeon suggested knitting would be a good form of hand therapy post operatively. Those of you who know me know I can sew but knitting is NOT one of talents, nor is crochet.

However, being the ever ambitious person I am, I decided to tackle the tutorial offered by Olga Jazzy on how to make a cable braided necklace simply because I really liked it and figured I just could not motivate myself to knit unless there was something nice at the end.

I had Mum staying with me last week (to help me do everything since I was one winged) and she does knit and does so very well so, when I dropped a stitch or added in an extra one, she was on hand to set me straight again.

The tutorial suggests a finish time of approx 1.5 to 2 hrs. I can honestly say it took me all day (around 6 hours) and that is not including the stitching together, adding the button and crocheting the loop.

I just LOVE this necklace/bracelet/headband. Even better is that it is reversible. You can flip it over for a totally different texture.

Olga Jazzy Cable Braided Necklace - Headband

I decided to make it a little longer than the pattern indicated as I thought it felt a little short when I was making it. I think the original pattern would have been better for using it as a necklace and headband but I can only just get it around my wrist so I am really pleased I made it longer. I prefer wearing it as a bracelet for two reasons: it hides my scar AND it offers some compression helping to keep the swelling down. It looks way better than the tubigrip I have been wearing.

Cable Braided Necklace by Olga Jazzy

I am even contemplating making myself another one in a brighter colour, although I will need Mum’s help to crochet the loop again:-)

©PetitBebe 2011 – 2013
www.facebook.com/PetitBebe
www.etsy.com/shop/PetitBebeCreatioNZ

Leave a Reply

